The Official R4DS "Is This Legit/A Scam/A Clone??" Thread

Announcements, Information & Rules

Postby pyro3rsx » Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:38 pm

oops i think i linked the reviews. here's the product page.

http://www.leetmod.com/r4ds-eng-sandisk ... p-120.html
User avatar
pyro3rsx
 


Postby macbastard » Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:47 pm

pyro3rsx wrote:hey guys, i'm new here. i'm interested in purchasing the r4ds. i wanted to check with all of you before purchase. i found this site that sells it with a 2gb micro sd. http://www.leetmod.com/index.php?main_p ... _uploads=0 i just wanted any input on this site. whether it's legit or scammers.

if it's unknown. do you guys have any sites that you would recommend purchasing from.

thanks in advance.


The price isn't bad. leetmod.com has popped up a few times in our forums as a place people have bought from, but I haven't seen any negative reviews or heard of any problems with them here.

I've purchased from volumerate.com (dealextreme's sister site, who I've also purchased from) and from kicktrading, and was happy with the service. Gameyeeeah is supposed to be good as well.
User avatar
macbastard
The Mods
The Mods
 
Posts: 1657
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:47 am
Location: Southeast USA
Do you own a R4?: Yes
Flash carts you own: R4, EZ 3 in 1, EFA Linker (256Mbit), AceKard 2
Games you're playing: WoW, FF IV, Mother 3: UnOfficial English Translation, ChronoTrigger DS
MicroSD: Sandisk
MicroSD size: 2GB
Homebrew you're using?: DSWifiLib, DS Organize, DS Diagnose, NESDS, SCUMMVM, SNEmulDS
Firmware: YSMenu
Links: http://

Postby TheWingless » Thu May 01, 2008 12:50 pm

Here's a list of websites you shouldn't buy from: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=81021
Reasons:
* Poor customer service
* Does not update pages when out of stock
* Buys out ALL the product from places like DealExtreme so the common man can no longer purchase from them
* Marks up their product by insane amounts (think 200+%)
* Has been known to take money and never reply back to the buyer
* Straight-up scam site
* Makes accounts on boards like this (GBATemp) to go around spamming their [censored] site
They are likely to sell fakes too. Except for maybe console source, because people are having horror stories and then there are people who had a good time with it.
Image
Slot 1: R4DS w/ 2 GB Patriot
Slot 2: EZ 3 in 1 and EFA Linker 512 Mbit
Other: Armor Lite Crystal case
User avatar
TheWingless
Forum Regular
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:04 pm
Do you own a R4?: Yes
Flash carts you own: R4, EZ 3in1, EFA Linker 512Mbit, Soon to own an iTouch DS
MicroSD: Patriot MicroSD 3 in 1 adapter
MicroSD size: 2GB

Postby jcm4 » Thu May 01, 2008 2:55 pm

Pretty good reasons you got there, dude.
Not active anymore, it was fun while it lasted, though. These were some good times.
User avatar
jcm4
The Mods
The Mods
 
Posts: 1623
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:04 am
Location: South Carolina/Virginia
Do you own a R4?: Yes
Flash carts you own: R4
Games you're playing: Waiting for the U.S. release of Soul Silver.
MicroSD: Sandisk
MicroSD size: 2GB
Homebrew you're using?: Negative.
Firmware: YSMenu
Links: http://

Postby macbastard » Thu May 01, 2008 4:16 pm

Oooh... nice find Wingless. I'll add all this to the FP. Thanks.
I had funny .gifs, but this forum eated em. :(
User avatar
macbastard
The Mods
The Mods
 
Posts: 1657
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:47 am
Location: Southeast USA
Do you own a R4?: Yes
Flash carts you own: R4, EZ 3 in 1, EFA Linker (256Mbit), AceKard 2
Games you're playing: WoW, FF IV, Mother 3: UnOfficial English Translation, ChronoTrigger DS
MicroSD: Sandisk
MicroSD size: 2GB
Homebrew you're using?: DSWifiLib, DS Organize, DS Diagnose, NESDS, SCUMMVM, SNEmulDS
Firmware: YSMenu
Links: http://

Postby Mic » Sat May 03, 2008 11:25 am

[deleted text scam]
User avatar
Mic
 

Postby macbastard » Sat May 03, 2008 5:08 pm

Mic wrote:[deleted text scam]


Ha! Nice wielding of the BANHAMMER!

Good riddance. :P
User avatar
macbastard
The Mods
The Mods
 
Posts: 1657
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:47 am
Location: Southeast USA
Do you own a R4?: Yes
Flash carts you own: R4, EZ 3 in 1, EFA Linker (256Mbit), AceKard 2
Games you're playing: WoW, FF IV, Mother 3: UnOfficial English Translation, ChronoTrigger DS
MicroSD: Sandisk
MicroSD size: 2GB
Homebrew you're using?: DSWifiLib, DS Organize, DS Diagnose, NESDS, SCUMMVM, SNEmulDS
Firmware: YSMenu
Links: http://

Postby jcm4 » Sat May 03, 2008 5:56 pm

I wish I could wield the mighty banhammer. :(
Not active anymore, it was fun while it lasted, though. These were some good times.
User avatar
jcm4
The Mods
The Mods
 
Posts: 1623
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:04 am
Location: South Carolina/Virginia
Do you own a R4?: Yes
Flash carts you own: R4
Games you're playing: Waiting for the U.S. release of Soul Silver.
MicroSD: Sandisk
MicroSD size: 2GB
Homebrew you're using?: Negative.
Firmware: YSMenu
Links: http://

Postby jcm4 » Wed May 14, 2008 11:32 am

Hmm....I just got an email from r4dl.net advertising the R4V3 upgrade. It seems they've been lurking on the forums.
Not active anymore, it was fun while it lasted, though. These were some good times.
User avatar
jcm4
The Mods
The Mods
 
Posts: 1623
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:04 am
Location: South Carolina/Virginia
Do you own a R4?: Yes
Flash carts you own: R4
Games you're playing: Waiting for the U.S. release of Soul Silver.
MicroSD: Sandisk
MicroSD size: 2GB
Homebrew you're using?: Negative.
Firmware: YSMenu
Links: http://

Postby Jafin » Sat May 24, 2008 12:28 am

Hey, first time posting here. Bought an R4DS (I hope!) the other day from that wretched www.ezbuyxtreme.com, Okay so everything is working okay excep for one thing, I cant update it from 1.16 to 1.17 or 1.18. I was just wondering what are the main reason people dont buy from ezybuy, cuz mine was branded on the website as an actual r4, not R4 II or N5. I didnt get it in a box like the one on the r4 website tho, which was the first thing that made me suspicious. It was just the "R4" in a clear case like ud get a new memory card in, and a CD that didnt have the R4 branding on it. On the CD were the initial files for set up (_system_, moonshl etc.) and one readme txt. I have just sent an email to them, but have also just read here that the links dont work for that website....any ideas from anybody as to what I should do? As for Shalashaska's post with the returns policies etc for itech, they are the exact same word for word as ezbuyxtreme. I so wish I had found this forum before I ordered......
Any input as to what I should do greatly appreciated.... :cry:
User avatar
Jafin
I'm New
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 8:26 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Announcements, Information & Rules